Testimonials

Riverhouse Catering knows how to make an outdoor, fall wedding in Connecticut feel like an effortless occasion for the married couple. We selected Riverhouse Catering via our amazing wedding planner – Diana Chouinard of Jubilee Events. From the tasting event with our parents to our wedding day, Kristen and Riverhouse Catering shined each step of the way. My husband and I fell in love with each bite of flavorful appetizers, entrees, and desserts. The bar staff and professional waitstaff made our night feel refined. BONUS: the happy couple has a dedicated attendant throughout the event to ensure you taste each bite and stayed hydrated. We highly recommend Riverhouse Catering for any off-site event, especially a fall wedding under a tent in Connecticut.

Patrick
7/25/20

RHC worked very well with us and answered our TEN THOUSAND questions. They responded quickly via email and on the day of the wedding they were most accommodating to my husband and I. We had a personal assistant, she helped with my dress, she got me plates, drinks and snacks. There is so much that goes into weddings, more than we realized and working with them was easy. Which is exactly what you need when dealing with everything else. I would recommend them and their food was a big hit with our guests.

Lacey
9/14/19

I cannot put into words how amazing Riverhouse Catering is. From the very beginning they made everything smooth, easy, and wonderful. From the venue to the food, the staff at Riverhouse was just a dream to work with. I had all my questions answered and all my bridal worries relieved.

From the very beginning they told me they handle everything for the big day and all I have to do is show up! That is exactly what I wanted and what I got. I had a fabulous team working with me who made me comfortable and stress-free. The food was fantastic! They do an amazing tasting for both dinner and desert. The team even puts you in contact with other vendors if needed. Riverhouse helped me get a DJ LAST MINUTE!!! I would only recommend Riverhouse. They are simply the best. My husband and I are forever grateful to them for their extraordinary service.

Rachel
10/26/19

Our wedding was an absolute DREAM COME TRUE … in large part to Riverhouse Catering. From the very beginning of the planning process their staff, in particular the Catering Sales Manager, Kirsten Perchout, was incredibly helpful. I tend to be very detail oriented and always had a ton of questions and our countless emails were always answered promptly with thoughtful responses. She guided us through the entire planning process and offered great suggestions to really personalize our special day.

Subsequently, our wedding day was perfect – without one misstep. The day-of staff was so incredibly helpful, and led our event with professionalism and precision. Ashley, Louise, and the rest of the day-of staff made sure my husband and I, along with our wedding party had plenty of food and drinks while we took pictures during the cocktail hour as to not miss out on any of our festivities. They were attentive, organized, and kept our event on track! There is not one negative thing we can say about Riverhouse Catering, we will forever be grateful to them for helping us create an unforgettable wedding experience!

Adana & Francisco
10/13/19
NBMAA

When my fiance and I got engaged, we were ALL over the place in terms of wedding planning. First we were going to do backyard event, then we checked out the Boathouse in Hartford, then back to backyard, then we finally decided on The Hill Stead Museum in Farmington. One constant during this time? Kirsten and co. from Riverhouse Catering. Every time we changed our minds, she was right there, answering our insane questions, and making me feel like this was 100% normal.

When we finally booked with RHC, we decided on stationary dinner with upgrades to our bar and cocktail hour packages. We were invited to a very lavish food tasting which during, I must have told my family 27 times, “this is the best day of my life”! It was a really fun day trying everything that would soon be at our wedding! Leading up to the wedding, we had a meeting with Kirsten 1:1, where she asked us zillions of questions such as “who is providing table numbers, where is the cake going to be” etc. etc. and walked us through the entire day. We had hired an awesome wedding coordinator as well, but had we not, RHC would have had our backs. The week before the wedding, we met Kirsten, the director of events Mary, and our captain, Jake, at our wedding location for a very detailed walk through. It was reassuring to know that every single detail was taken care of.The day of our wedding was truly the best day of my life, and a huge part of that is due to RHC and how seamlessly they run their events. Jake and his staff did a phenomenal job – the food was incredible, bars were hopping, and the servers were fantastic. We had a bridal attendant with us, Nicole, who ensured our plates were filled and drinks were flowing all night.

At the end of our reception, RHC packed up all of our stuff in our boxes, helped us load our cars up, and sent us on our way!I think it’s worth mentioning that RHC provides not only food, but the liquor/wine/beer should you choose the bar package, plates, cutlery, linens, glassware, staff, bartenders, chefs, chafing dishes, etc. Many catering companies that I contacted did not provide all of this, and in the end, we went with RHC because they are full-service from start to finish. While the price at first might seem higher than other caterers, I think the value in having someone who handles all of those sometimes forgotten things is well worth it.I would definitely recommend Riverhouse Catering, and Kirsten and Jake specifically, to anyone who is in the initial stages of wedding planning.

Linley
Getting married: 4/9/21

Riverhouse made the planning process easy from the very beginning. They worked hard to assure everything I envisioned came to life. Kirsten was always quick to respond & help with any questions and concerns I had. Our server Sofia didn’t leave anything to be desired. Anything we needed she got immediately for us. Riverhouse isn’t only a catering service. They help with every step of the wedding planning process down to setting up decorations and helping with rentals. I couldn’t recommend them enough!

Chelsea & Brandon
9/21/19

We just wanted to take a moment to thank you for all of the hard work you did to make our wedding so amazing. It was an absolutely incredible day, we were so overjoyed with how everything turned out. We could not be more pleased with Riverhouse Catering. So many family members and friends kept telling us how amazing the food was and all the catering staff. Many people told us it was one of the best weddings they had been too, and thank you so much for helping us make that happen. You played a huge role in making our wedding day so memorable, we couldn’t be more grateful to have worked with you!

Ruth & Brett
8/24/19

Riverhouse is amazing! My husband and I were lucky enough to work with them for our wedding day and Riverhouse exceeded our expectations. Everyone we worked with was organized, professional, friendly and accommodating! Our wedding was at my parents house and they were able to set up a kitchen right next to the main tent and served amazing food! All of our guests really enjoyed the passed appetizers and meals they were served, all the food was not only delicious but beautiful to look at, our salads with the peaches and bib lettuce were a work of art! Our wedding was extremely colorful, like all the colors, and Riverhouse came up with inventive rainbow food to add to our cheese bar and dessert bar, rainbow mac&cheese, rainbow bread for grilled cheeses, rainbow marshmallows, rainbow mousse…everyone loved this and it was just magical. Riverhouse was also able to accommodate my fathers last minute dietary restrictions, he recently became a vegan, and they prepared a vegan option just for him! We truly couldn’t recommend them more!! The best!

Nicole
6/14/2019

We could not have been happier with Riverhouse Catering! The bride, her sisters, and several of our guests have severe food allergies. Not only was Riverhouse accommodating with the menu but they reassured us throughout the process that they were taking every precaution to ensure that the food would be safe for all! The food was delicious and we had a great time working with Kirsten and Jake! The venue was at a private residence, obviously a location that they would not be familiar with, and it was like they did events there every weekend! They worked well with the other vendors and were truly the glue that held the entire reception together! We will always recommend them to anyone else having a wedding in Connecticut!

Joe H
2/11/2018

We just wanted to say that you were all AMAZING!!!! Our wedding was truly a fairy tale, and it could not have been such a success without you and the rest of the crew. While w were sad you couldn’t be there, Jake was OUTSTANDING, and Della was just of the charts WONDERFUL! We want to relive that day over and over again, and it’s, in huge part, thanks to you and the attention to detail you provided from the beginning. We just cannot say enough! Thanks for EVERYTHING, and if we do ever do a recreation of that day for a milestone anniversary, we will not hesitate to use you again! Much gratitude and best wishes!

Jeffery Bianco & Dan Vasquez
8/11/2018

I can’t imagine our wedding without Kirsten and the whole Riverhouse team! We originally started working with another catering manager who helped us initiate our process with Riverhouse and we loved her, so we were VERY nervous when we found out she was leaving. Lucky for us- we were linked up with Kirsten and I couldn’t have been happier! Kirsten was so incredibly helpful planning every detail of our wedding reception, we couldn’t have done it without her! She kept us on task, and stress free (with a lot of laughs along the way!) The time and attention we received made it feel like we were their only couple getting married, and we were blown away by the much appreciated professionalism, genuineness, and thoughtfulness that went into every meeting, every email (which there were quite a few of!) and the actual wedding day. She helped us plan sweet surprises for each other throughout the night and made our day truly special. I could cry happy tears thinking of our wedding day team (Jake, Judy, and Della…they are the dream team, fight for them!) They treated every guest–not just the bride and groom– like royalty, and went so far above and beyond that all of our guests are still raving about this staff (and we’ve got some TOUGH critics!). The food was impeccable (if you don’t get the house braised BBQ short ribs, you’ll regret it! They’re to die for!) They took every request, every allergy very seriously and our guests were falling in love with every bite. We had a tricky venue setup to work with, but our Riverhouse chef and staff were champs and never missed a beat! Thank you to RHC for keeping us sane and smiling through the planning process, and making our wedding a unforgettable night!

Monica & Rob
CHATFIELD HOLLOW
8/11/18

I couldn’t say more amazing things about riverhouse caterering. From the moment I met Evan during our tasting, everything was fantastic! My wedding was this last Saturday and I keep getting texts about how amazing the food was. Truly superb! Keith and Evan were true gems and made the day flow so smoothly, everything was beyond what I expected. It truly blew me away and a huge part of that I owe to them!!!

Katie W.
7/25/17

The Best Wedding!!! My husband and I worked with Kirsten and Riverhouse Catering to hold our wedding at the New Britain Museum of American Art this summer. They were amazing! From our very first phone call, we were so impressed by their professionalism, attentiveness, and flexibility. Kirsten met with us multiple times during the planning stages, and always followed up with emails about what needed to happen next. She also responded to all of our (many) emails and phone calls about various details and questions, and was always thorough and clear in her replies. Even when we got flustered or forgot something, Kirsten was always on top of things, and made us feel completely confident that everything would be taken care of .

And the wedding itself: WOW! As soon as we entered the museum, we were blown away by how beautiful it all looked. Everything was done so professionally and with such elegance. And all of the staff were really fantastic. Jake ensured that everything ran smoothly, and we had a personal attendant, Della, who took care of everything that we and our families needed during the night. Not to mention the food and drinks: absolutely delicious! And when we forgot some of our items in the rush to leave (we were celebrating up until the very end!), Jake met with us the next day so we could pick everything up. We cannot express how amazing it was to be able to just let go and have fun that night, with complete trust that everything was in excellent hands.

We received so many compliments from our friends and family on the wedding–some of them saying it was the best they had ever attended! It goes without saying that we would absolutely recommend Kirsten, Jake, and Riverhouse to anyone planning a wedding. We are so incredibly grateful to them all for putting together an evening we will never forget!

Elizabeth P.
8/11/18

Thank you and your team for helping to make Jennifer’s and Karoon’s wedding spectacular. The service, the flow of things, the staff, and the food were beyond our expectations. Della was an unbelievable asset! She was attentive, competent, kind, and seemed to always be one step ahead of us! I can’t say enough about her!

Jake had the service and food move along seamlessly throughout the entire event. Everything was plentiful and delicious. We received rave reviews from many of our guests on how delicious the food was!

You had everything organized and delivered as promised. I will absolutely write you and your Riverhouse team a glowing review, hopefully by the end of today or tomorrow. Thank you again for being an integral part of making Jennifer’s and Karoon’s wedding as wonderful as it was. They were beyond happy, as were all of us parents!!

Lisa
7/17/18

Riverhouse Catering, with the team managed by Kirsten, was instrumental in making our daughter’s wedding on June 30, 2018 absolutely spectacular! Prior to the wedding, Kirsten attended 2 very long meetings at Folly Farm in Simsbury, CT, the wedding venue. She was organized, receptive to our requests, handled our concerns with professionalism, and managed the extensive details involved in a 235 person wedding like the true professional that she is. The on-site event coordinator, Jake, did an amazing job in managing the timing, preparation, service and amazing quality and presentation of the food. Riverhouse was responsible for providing the bar and bartenders, linens, silverware, glassware, etc. for this gorgeous outdoor wedding.

The tables were set to perfection, and there were more than enough wait staff ensure that everything was executed to perfection. The attendant dedicated to the bride and groom and their parents, Della, was fabulous! She continually made sure that we all had food, beverages to keep us cool on that very hot day, and ensured that anything needed was attended to. Riverhouse’s off-site catering team was truly a group of highly trained and professional people. The quality of the pre-wedding coordination, day-of service, attention to detail and incredible food were beyond our expectations. This team was instrumental in making our daughter’s and son in law’s wedding day the wedding of their dreams! As Mother of the Bride, I cannot recommend Riverhouse Catering enough, and I highly recommend them.

Lisa
7/17/18

We recently had an outdoor wedding in Haddam Neck, Connecticut catered by Riverhouse Catering. They did a fantastic job with every detail of our day, and bringing our vision into reality. The food itself was wonderful, and several guests raved about the salmon in particular. Also the passed appetizers were awesome as well (my favorite was the bacon wrapped spiced apples and figs).

Kirsten, Dawn, Jake and the rest of the team listened to every detail we wanted when it came to setting up the venue. Also we had a staff member make sure that our every need was taken care of, which was crucial because it would have been super easy to forget to eat given all of the festivities. She was awesome, and deserves a special shout out, so thanks so much Molly!

All in all we couldn’t have been happier with our experience from start to finish.

Evan A.
6/12/2018

The Riverhouse team was fantastic to work with! The food at our wedding was delicious (we got a lot of compliments) and the team there the day of was perfect (lots of attention to detail). I would use them again in a heartbeat.

Kristen
5/26/18

Fabulous! Stress free event! I was so concerned I would not have a good time at my daughter’s wedding as I worry about details at events like this. We were in such good hands with Riverhouse Catering that I got to completely relax and just enjoy the day! We thank Evan, Jake and Della and the rest of the staff for making this happen in such a profoundly wonderful way. We highly recommend the short ribs! Wowzer! We held the reception in a hall (for cocktails and apps) and in a tent for dinner and dancing and I expected to have to go up the day after the wedding to do a major cleanup. Nothing could be further from the truth. They arranged to have all of our items placed in one area for storage while they cleaned up everything! Could not be happier! Worth every penny!!!!!

Peggy
10/7/17

We used Riverhouse Catering for our wedding at New Britain Museum of American Art, we had an amazing experience. Throughout the planning stage, Evan helped us to get organized and open to our creative ideas on decoration. On our wedding day, she stayed and hugged us before the ceremony started, which was a pleasant surprise as she wasn’t the coordinator assigned onsite. Our guests enjoyed the food and they were amazed at how awesome the service was. The decoration turns out even better than I expected. I would recommend their service to any couple, especially those who want to create an unique wedding experience.

Zorah L.
10/4/17

Kirsten & the staff at Riverhouse Catering were amazing! Our timeline was very short. Kirsten was so polite, professional & flexible. Already having had a previous great experience with Riverhouse, I am not surprised by how flawlessly everything ran, but I want to give a shout-out to Judy Ann & the fabulous staff on Saturday night. My guests raved over the wonderful food. I overheard many people comment on it and some made a point of telling me how delicious and unique the appetizers were.

We have a family with multiple food allergies & Kirsten & the Riverhouse chef were extremely accommodating. The chef made changes to the menu items, substituted items & made a delicious meal that my whole family (& non-allergic friends) could enjoy. I am so indebted to your chef for providing an allergy-friendly spread that my family & friends alike were able to enjoy. Again, I cannot tell you how delighted my 3 daughters & my husband were to be able to eat such a wide variety of offerings at a party. They are used to being reduced to only a few foods at a gathering. The museum was beautiful, the various food stations were attractive, the bar was easily accessible. Everything was top-notch. Riverhouse Catering will be my first choice for all my future events!

Alicia M.
7/20/18

We loved working with Riverhouse for our May 2018 wedding. And our guests all raved about how wonderful the team was, too! We chose Riverhouse based on their seasonal menu and the tasting we had.

We were able to build our package and menu with the help of Kirsten and the team. Kirsten answered all of our questions and worked with our wedding venue as well. We had a few special requests such as having a nut free appetizer menu for our nephew who has a severe allergy. She also worked out for us to have a donut holes cake. The team during our wedding was awesome, too. Our bridal attendant was so friendly and attentive. Honestly, I had no idea how important it was to have a bridal attendant until we actually had one! Kirsten also handled all our additional rentals. And they set up our decorations and props! Really, Riverhouse was everything for our wedding because they did more than “prepare food”, they helped plan and organize the majority of our special day! Would recommend them to anyone!

Kimberly N
10/05/18

I can’t imagine our wedding without Kirsten and the whole Riverhouse team! We originally started working with another catering manager who helped us initiate our process with Riverhouse and we loved her, so we were VERY nervous when we found out she was leaving. Lucky for us- we were linked up with Kirsten and I couldn’t have been happier! Kirsten was so incredibly helpful planning every detail of our wedding reception, we couldn’t have done it without her! She kept us on task, and stress free (with a lot of laughs along the way!) The time and attention we received made it feel like we were their only couple getting married, and we were blown away by the much appreciated professionalism, genuineness, and thoughtfulness that went into every meeting, every email (which there were quite a few of!) and the actual wedding day. She helped us plan sweet surprises for each other throughout the night and made our day truly special. I could cry happy tears thinking of our wedding day team (Jake, Judy, and Della…they are the dream team, fight for them!) They treated every guest–not just the bride and groom– like royalty, and went so far above and beyond that all of our guests are still raving about this staff (and we’ve got some TOUGH critics!). The food was impeccable (if you don’t get the house braised BBQ short ribs, you’ll regret it! They’re to die for!) They took every request, every allergy very seriously and our guests were falling in love with every bite. We had a tricky venue setup to work with, but our Riverhouse chef and staff were champs and never missed a beat! Thank you to RHC for keeping us sane and smiling through the planning process, and making our wedding a unforgettable night!

Monica C.
8/11/18

You were all AMAZING!!!! Our wedding was truly a fairy tale, and it could not have been such a success without you and the rest of the crew. While w were sad you couldn’t be there, Jake was OUTSTANDING, and Della was just of the charts WONDERFUL! We want to relive that day over and over again, and it’s, in huge part, thanks to you and the attention to detail you provided from the beginning. We just cannot say enough! Thanks for EVERYTHING, and if we do ever do a recreation of that day for a milestone anniversary, we will not hesitate to use you again! Much gratitude and best wishes!

Jeff and Dan
10/18/18